Skip to content

Numbers Sanctify …

June 24, 2014

A while ago someone shared with me that a student of a theological seminary had announced that the school would not be teaching van Gogh. I found this of interest, knowing it would come into Spirrealism in time. I do not know the reasons that this seminary will not “teach” van Gogh, but I am going to speculate for the purpose of a teaching.

Let’s say that the seminary is not ‘teaching’ van Gogh because:

a. History says he committed suicide.

b. He left religion—did not follow in his dad’s footsteps and become a preacher like his dad.

c. Was a friend to Paul Gauguin who is known to have been a drug addict and to have slept with underage females.

d. Did an odd thing to himself and cut his ear and sent a message to the prostitute.

e. He did not sell but one painting in his life of human flesh—– (THE RED VINEYARD, bought by a woman)—–and so, he appears a failure in the world.

f. Did not preach Scripture according to the priests and pastors of that day.

g. Did not paint religious themes of that day, but did paint the poor in his work.

h. Was somewhat eccentric in that he did not conform to the norms of that day.

i. Lost touch with reality according to worldly finance, vocation and system.

 

History states he committed suicide. If we had a team that could investigate what really happened, we would likely discover murder not suicide. Here are a few points which counter the above.

His paintings during his “out of touch” period are THE most expressive, Spiritual and symbolically rich of all his works, and when properly discerned will provide insight into places man has not yet seen. So, the question I have for those who view Vincent as a lost soul would be: Was he not used to demonstrate what is of SPIRITUAL IDENTITY? Even his station of the cross? If the seminary is concerned that Vincent does not include “religious” figures in these, then they need to review Holy Scripture, and begin the Understanding in Light. Lord uses sky and land and sea, and flock, shepherds, farmers, fields, water, soil, trees, plants and animals, houses, roads, paths … and the Starry Night, especially where the Book of Revelation is of concern.

I do not recall Vincent ever painting a gun. Did he even own one?

Letters to his brother, and an exchange with Gauguin reveal that Vincent attempted to talk a prostitute named Rachel out of a life of prostitution, even spending what little money he had to do this. He was also chastised by Gauguin for this, and Gauguin, out of spite, did the opposite.

Preaching is telling and teaching is showing. Did Vincent demonstrate to the world that he had not conformed to it?  One has only to look at another Prophet, one used as an object of greed. This, of course, would be Jesus.

All of these acts are highly Symbolic and taught in Scripture … if one is of the ears to hear. My question to the student is this: What is your purpose in attending this Christian theological seminary who will not teach van Gogh?

 

Vocation or Revelation? One is finite the other infinite. Both are congruous within the time period of its birth. There are those who can teach; there are those who can paint, and there are few who can teach while painting. And as for the ear incident … I don’t know a Prophet who was not bloodied in some fashion.

 

Book of Malachi

Note: Nothing is known of the biography of the author of the book of Malachi, although it has been suggested that he may have been Levitical (which is curious, considering that Ezra was a priest). The books of Zechariah and Haggai were written during the lifetime of Ezra (see 5:1); perhaps this may explain the similarities in style. Although the Ezra theory is disputed, it remains the dominant authorship theory.[citation needed]

According to the editors of the 1897 Easton’s Bible Dictionary, some scholars believe the name “Malachi” is not a proper noun but rather an abbreviation of “messenger of YHWH”.[1] This reading could be based on Malachi 3:1, “Behold, I will send my messenger…”, if my messenger is taken literally as the name Malachi.[2] Several scholars consider the book to be anonymous, with verse 1:1 being a later addition.[2] However, other scholars, including the editors of the Catholic Encyclopedia, argue that the grammatical evidence leads us to conclude that Malachi is in fact a name.[3]

Another interpretation of the authorship comes from the Septuagint superscription, ὲν χειρὶ ἀγγήλου αὐτοῦ, which can be read as either “by the hand of his messenger” or as “by the hand of his angel”. The “angel” reading found an echo among the ancient Leaders of the Church and ecclesiastical writers, and even gave rise to the “strangest fancies”, especially among the disciples of Origen of Alexandria.[3][4]   FROM WIKIPEDIA

*Also note: the name Vincent means “winning”

Malachi, BEGINNING CHAPTER 5 …

And now this admonition is for you, O priests.
2If you do not listen, and if you do not set your heart to honour my name, says the LORD Almighty, I will send a curse upon you, and I will curse your blessings. Yes, I have already cursed them, because you have not set your heart to honour me.
3Because of you I will rebuke [ Or cut off (see Septuagint) ] your descendants; [ Or will blight your corn ] I will spread on your faces the offal from your festival sacrifices, and you will be carried off with it.
4And you will know that I have sent you this admonition so that my covenant with Levi may continue, says the LORD Almighty.
5My covenant was with him, a covenant of life and peace, and I gave them to him; this called for reverence and he revered me and stood in awe of my name.
6True instruction was in his mouth and nothing false was found on his lips. He walked with me in peace and uprightness, and turned many from sin.
7For the lips of a priest ought to preserve knowledge, and from his mouth men should seek instruction – because he is the messenger of the LORD Almighty.
8But you have turned from the way and by your teaching have caused many to stumble; you have violated the covenant with Levi, says the LORD Almighty.

 

9So I have caused you to be despised and humiliated before all the people, because you have not followed my ways but have shown partiality in matters of the law.
10Have we not all one Father? [ Or father ] Did not one God create us? Why do we profane the covenant of our fathers by breaking faith with one another?
11Judah has broken faith. A detestable thing has been committed in Israel and in Jerusalem: Judah has desecrated the sanctuary the LORD loves, by marrying the daughter of a foreign god.
12As for the man who does this, whoever he may be, may the LORD cut him off from the tents of Jacob – [ Or 12 May the LORD cut off from the tents of Jacob anyone who gives testimony on behalf of the man who does this ] even though he brings offerings to the LORD Almighty.
13Another thing you do: You flood the LORD’s altar with tears. You weep and wail because he no longer pays attention to your offerings or accepts them with pleasure from your hands.
14You ask, Why? It is because the LORD is acting as the witness between you and the wife of your youth, because you have broken faith with her, though she is your partner, the wife of your marriage covenant.
15Has not the LORD made them one? In flesh and spirit they are his. And why one? Because he was seeking godly offspring. [ Or 15 But the one who is our father did not do this, not as long as life remained in him. And what was he seeking? An offspring from God ] So guard yourself in your spirit, and do not break faith with the wife of your youth.
16I hate divorce, says the LORD God of Israel, and I hate a man’s covering himself [ Or his wife ] with violence as well as with his garment, says the LORD Almighty. So guard yourself in your spirit, and do not break faith.
17You have wearied the LORD with your words. How have we wearied him? you ask. By saying, All who do evil are good in the eyes of the LORD, and he is pleased with them or Where is the God of justice?

PRODIGAL SON REMBRANDT

The Prodigal Son by Rembrandt

I was up against a militant atheist recently, one who despises God, Jesus and religion, and I know of this because I have read several of his comments on religious news articles. In the story of Cain and Abel, Cain is the crop farmer and Abel is the shepherd. And so, I am compelled to ask him: Who is responsible for this death?

And Cain talked with Abel his brother: and it came to pass, when they were in the field, that Cain rose up against Abel his brother, and slew him.

 

100_0779100_0784

 

John 8 speaks ON THE PROPHET.

 

JESUS WENT UNTO THE MOUNT OF OLIVES …

2 And early in the morning he came again into the temple, and all the people came unto him; and he sat down, and taught them.

3 And the scribes and Pharisees brought unto him a woman taken in adultery; and when they had set her in the midst,

4 They say unto him, Master, this woman was taken in adultery, in the very act.

5 Now Moses in the law commanded us, that such should be stoned: but what sayest thou?

6 This they said, tempting him, that they might have to accuse him. But Jesus stooped down, and with his finger wrote on the ground, as though he heard them not.

7 So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.

8 And again he stooped down, and wrote on the ground.

9 And they which heard it, being convicted by their own conscience, went out one by one, beginning at the eldest, even unto the last: and Jesus was left alone, and the woman standing in the midst.

10 When Jesus had lifted up himself, and saw none but the woman, he said unto her, Woman, where are those thine accusers? hath no man condemned thee?

11 She said, No man, Lord. And Jesus said unto her, Neither do I condemn thee: go, and sin no more.

12 Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

13 The Pharisees therefore said unto him, Thou bearest record of thyself; thy record is not true.

14 Jesus answered and said unto them, Though I bear record of myself, yet my record is true: for I know whence I came, and whither I go; but ye cannot tell whence I come, and whither I go.

15 Ye judge after the flesh; I judge no man.

16 And yet if I judge, my judgment is true: for I am not alone, but I and the Father that sent me.

17 It is also written in your law, that the testimony of two men is true.

18 I am one that bear witness of myself, and the Father that sent me beareth witness of me.

19 Then said they unto him, Where is thy Father? Jesus answered, Ye neither know me, nor my Father: if ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also.

20 These words spake Jesus in the treasury, as he taught in the temple: and no man laid hands on him; for his hour was not yet come.

21 Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come.

22 Then said the Jews, Will he kill himself? because he saith, Whither I go, ye cannot come.

23 And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath; I am from above: ye are of this world; I am not of this world.

24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

25 Then said they unto him, Who art thou? And Jesus saith unto them, Even the same that I said unto you from the beginning.

26 I have many things to say and to judge of you: but he that sent me is true; and I speak to the world those things which I have heard of him.

27 They understood not that he spake to them of the Father.

28 Then said Jesus unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.

29 And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him.

30 As he spake these words, many believed on him.

31 Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed;

32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

33 They answered him, We be Abraham’s seed, and were never in bondage to any man: how sayest thou, Ye shall be made free?

34 Jesus answered them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin.

35 And the servant abideth not in the house for ever: but the Son abideth ever.

36 If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.

37 I know that ye are Abraham’s seed; but ye seek to kill me, because my word hath no place in you.

38 I speak that which I have seen with my Father: and ye do that which ye have seen with your father.

39 They answered and said unto him, Abraham is our father. Jesus saith unto them, If ye were Abraham’s children, ye would do the works of Abraham.

40 But now ye seek to kill me, a man that hath told you the truth, which I have heard of God: this did not Abraham.

41 Ye do the deeds of your father. Then said they to him, We be not born of fornication; we have one Father, even God.

42 Jesus said unto them, If God were your Father, ye would love me: for I proceeded forth and came from God; neither came I of myself, but he sent me.

43 Why do ye not understand my speech? even because ye cannot hear my word.

44 Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it.

45 And because I tell you the truth, ye believe me not.

46 Which of you convinceth me of sin? And if I say the truth, why do ye not believe me?

47 He that is of God heareth God’s words: ye therefore hear them not, because ye are not of God.

48 Then answered the Jews, and said unto him, Say we not well that thou art a Samaritan, and hast a devil?

49 Jesus answered, I have not a devil; but I honour my Father, and ye do dishonour me.

50 And I seek not mine own glory: there is one that seeketh and judgeth.

51 Verily, verily, I say unto you, If a man keep my saying, he shall never see death.

52 Then said the Jews unto him, Now we know that thou hast a devil. Abraham is dead, and the prophets; and thou sayest, If a man keep my saying, he shall never taste of death.

53 Art thou greater than our father Abraham, which is dead? and the prophets are dead: whom makest thou thyself?

54 Jesus answered, If I honour myself, my honour is nothing: it is my Father that honoureth me; of whom ye say, that he is your God:

55 Yet ye have not known him; but I know him: and if I should say, I know him not, I shall be a liar like unto you: but I know him, and keep his saying.

56 Your father Abraham rejoiced to see my day: and he saw it, and was glad.

57 Then said the Jews unto him, Thou art not yet fifty years old, and hast thou seen Abraham?

58 Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.

59 Then took they up stones to cast at him: but Jesus hid himself, and went out of the temple, going through the midst of them, and so passed by.

 

I should state first that I do NOT believe all books in the Bible (as Christianity understands) to be THE WORD OF GOD. I do not believe Moses ever said to stone an adulterer or adulteress. If you look at the writing in Leviticus on this and writing in other books related to “adultery”, you will begin to see that there is a significant distance between what is said in … “If there is a man who commits adultery with another man’s wife, one who commits adultery with his friend’s wife, the adulterer and the adulteress shall surely be put to death…” and what is meant in “4 Marriage is honorable among all, and the bed undefiled; but fornicators and adulterers God will judge.” 

I have always said there is more than one meaning in all things said, and this is no exception. God gives choice. If you live by the laws of man then by the laws of man you will be tested, and you will be judged. If you live by the law of God, also understood in the words and worth on the Law of the Prophets, you will receive judgement. What John speaks on in Chapter 8 can be viewed as a warning in how you behave, and this having both sides on judgement: your intent, or purpose for judgement, and your acts (need be accessed in the Light on Love).

I won’t get into all that Jesus teaches through John 8, but what I share is this:

Where Jesus says to the woman … 11 She said, No man, Lord. And Jesus said unto her, Neither do I condemn thee: go, and sin no more … He is saying—symbolically of Spirit—go, and be NO LONGER OF THIS WORLD. This is the sign of and for the Prophet. As the Prophet on Truth is condemned by the world, so too will his voice be heard. That it is a woman in the teaching demonstrates to us Wisdom on the Word, which is the Essence of the Godhood. Anyone who says that Wisdom is man needs to go back and take a closer look.

 Van Gogh Bedroom at ArlesVan Gogh Night Cafe Arles

 

 

L Thiel: I did not know Gauguin was schooled Jesuit—interesting. I knew there was a Catholic connection when younger, but did not know it was Jesuit.

RE: Vincent’s death

I do not believe it was a suicide. Vincent struggled; this is clear, as so many of his kind. Even saints and mystics struggle. This is part of what and who they become—should they become. I do believe this door is open wide for study and discernment, and rich in pulling together life and liberty (not pursuit of happiness as most believe-rather freedom from societal squelching and primitive thought, which brings one to elevated planes of understanding … should one be for this heartmind in desire).

 

 

L Thiel: I think it important to properly understand what happened. You see, suicide can be mistaken for a doctor feeding drugs to a person—carelessly, greedily, selfishly … You see my point? Poor advice from psychiatrists, psychologists, doctors … bad information … taking advantage of a situation—someone—you know how this is. You have seen enough of this, haven’t you? Are we not called to shake the tree?

 

NATIVITY GAUGUIN 1896

 

Peace and Love

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment
  1. opheliart permalink

    http://www.religionnews.com/2014/06/25/italian-priest-charged-soliciting-sexual-favors-desperate-refugees/

    Re: clergy sexual abuse

    This is the third case I have seen in the news in a short 3-4 weeks, and it is just the beginning. The RCC needs to move. It really needs to wake up and see the drama unfolding, and stop playing politics, continuing to behave as if their ‘heads’ carry some special wisdom or Spiritual powers. I say this not because I have any dislike for Pope Fran. I think he is sincere in his efforts, but fooled by many. He is Spiritually Immature, and walks a very dangerous line in his religious ethics by playing brotherhood with a faction that is partial and discriminatory. These men have not properly addressed this disease within their institution, and while this institution makes accusations about others, they refuse to see their own irreparable behavior. The RCC think tank uses Pope Fran to divert attention away from removing that which breeds ill. Verbally blasting the Italian mafia will change what? We can see what the Vatican is doing! They want people to think they are confronting them, but they are doing no such thing! Just words … floating away in the lukewarm breeze. Babies, you need igniting!

    Have these abusive priests been suffering from paradoxical fatigue? Many live under a disguise that tears at the heartmind to the point of viciousness. They prey on the children because they long for innocence. They have never grown up, having lived under their disguise … and the aging process within this fermenting mind erodes and acts out. A catholic responded: which explains to a degree the excusing.

    Ah! You have already abandoned your Mystical Traditions … such a crying shame.

    Peace and Love.

Leave a Reply

