Skip to content

Leasing The Lesser Lamentation (Part One)

June 14, 2013

100_8556

The full title of the ikon shown is HUMANITY: Joy and Sorrow, Sorrow and Joy. During the writing, it went through a transformation. I had exhibited it once, and afterward, felt compelled to the point of near panic, to rewrite Mary’s left hand, omit Greek writing in the Child  nimbus, and change the headdress from blue to white. Why? It would require several essays to explain this, but I won’t leave you hanging; the title says it all. Afterward, I had to go through a period of adjustment …  The headdress? What have I done? I’ve ruined it! It’s no longer BLUE!  And now it’s too large, and sits atop her head like … like … like a bridal veil?

In truth, the veil is still the Symbolic Blue of Spirit, but what I was led to share in this change was a paraphrasing of this realm. This being the Bridal Chamber of the Eternal. And Mary, Our Blessed Theotokos, is within this – enveloped within Eternal Glory. The golden nimbus behind assists in this Magnificent Marriage, and it is a marriage, one that awaits those who are of the Essence of the Spirituality of Christ, our Redeeming Way. But what is a higher teaching in Mary as Ikon, is not Mary as the Bride, but the Bride as strong waters. It has been said in other essays on SPIR that Mary in the Word represents Wisdom in Adversity. Her Being in the story, and her Being in the Good News, is one of devotion and endurance. Her Humanity rests in the prophetic, and her Essence is of Christ, the Way.

I do not like to dissect my work for others, nor do I care to dissect it for myself. I see things that I keep hidden, and I leave others to peruse and experience as they are led. This is the beauty of Spiritual Art. My reason for sharing was to demonstrate to the viewer that we are always in the process of Becoming who we are in the One.

From The Gospel Of Mary

“Be on your guard so that no one deceives you by saying, ‘Look over here’ or ‘Look over there.’ For the Child of Humanity exists within you. Follow it. Those who search for it will find it.

“Go then, preach the good news about the kingdom. Do not lay down any rule beyond what I determined for you, nor promulgate law like the lawgiver, or else you might be dominated by it.”

100_0619

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

