Skip to content

The INcomprehensible You

April 5, 2013

Incomprehensible – synonyms: inapprehensible, unintelligible, impenetrable

First, I want to state that I made a slip on my last essay As Saint Paul Sees. In the last line of the excerpt I posted on The Prayer of the Apostle Paul, I have written …

You are my rest:

give me comprehensible perfection.

It’s supposed to be incomprehensible perfection. I caught it the day after I published it, but decided that it was purposeful. I will discourse on this in more detail.

The following is the full prayer as written in The Nag Hammadi Scriptures, The Revised and Updated Translation of Sacred Gnostic Texts.

The Prayer of The Apostle Paul

……                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Grant me your [mercy].

[My] Redeemer, redeem me,

for [I am] yours;

I have come from [you].

You are [my] mind:

bring me forth.

You are my treasury:

open for me.

You [are] my fullness:

accept me.

You are <my> rest:

give me incomprehensible perfection.

I call upon you,

you who exist and preexisted,

in the name exalted above every name,

through Jesus Christ,

[Lord] of lords,

King of eternal realms.

Give me your gifts, with no regret,

through the Son of Humanity,

the Spirit,

the Advocate of [truth].

Give me authority, [I] ask of you,

give me [healing] for my body, since I ask you

through the preacher of the gospel,

and redeem my enlightened soul and my spirit,

and disclose to my mind the firstborn of the fullness of grace.

Grant what eyes of angels have not [seen],

what ears of rulers have not heard,

and what has not arisen in the human heart,

which became angelic,

made in the image of the animate God

when it was formed in the beginning.

I have faith and hope.

And bestow upon me

your beloved, chosen, blessed majesty,

the firstborn, the first-begotten,

the [wonderful] mystery of your house.

[For] yours is power and glory

and praise and greatness,

forever and ever.

[Amen].

Prayer of the Apostle Paul

In Peace.

Holy is Christ.

The reason I believe it to be purposeful is because I believe it to be experiential. Experience is necessary for its purpose, and it serves as a way to look more closely at Paul, and what he shares. When one is of the Spirit, there is a desire for understanding. When you yearn for Truth; when you are hungry, and thirst exceedingly, you desire perfection who is understood. In youth of knowledge, the child cries hungrily. He knows of this source of enlightenment, but does not understand the reasons for wanting its fullness. In the manner of  Paul’s prayer, there is a persistence, but the request is of an experience different from something merely of the desire for understanding. There is no mere in it at all (mere – from Latin merus: undiluted). It’s existential. It’s profit lies in its existence within. In this case, Redeemer. Redeemer is not transitory; it’s ever-flowing, initiated in the One, which means, it is Advocate. You are my rest: give me incomprehensible perfection, which exists as an impenetrable fortress or castle. In other words, give me [what is/who is] intrinsically Peace. Through this (through Jesus Christ), there is a common denominator in the coming into Knowledge, or Wisdom, which becomes you, experienced as self-knowledge. You are building your ID. You come into your Station. That fullness is not fed from without, but from within, as a mother feeds a child in the womb.

Again, that fullness is not fed from without, but from within. This is not saying that your outside interactions are not instrumental in forming you. All things form the One, as God is the great Communicator and Composer. He orchestrates in perfect fashion. What this is saying is that you are a vessel to be filled, and if you indulge in acts that weaken you, your exterior will not hold new wine (new Life).

“And no one puts new wine into old wineskins; or else the new wine bursts the wineskins, the wine is spilled, and the wineskins are ruined. But new wine must be put into new wineskins.” Mark 2.22

Now, a diluted state comes in the lack of experience, which translates as no Spirit. Let me share an analogy. If one is not of or not IN the Spirit, he wakes up and goes into the shower; washes, dries off, dresses, and heads off to work. When IN the Spirit, he wakes and goes out and spends the day tilling the earth. As darkness begins, his muscles ache, and he finds he is covered in the dust and the sweat of the work. He goes to the shower. The shower cleanses and soothes, and is far more appreciated, and far more incomprehensible.  It is not imagined, for the results are far more real. There is even proof in the shower, and proof in the body. It is remedy rather than ritual. The truth in this is found in not being mere self. The process is one of becoming of a renewed self, a higher, more spiritually perfected self, and one who is profitably aware of who self might become. The remedy is in the movement to a point of rest.

In the Gospel of Thomas, Jesus explains to His disciples where they are from. He says,“Say to them, ‘We have come from the light, from the place where the light came into being by itself, established [itself], and appeared in their image.’ ” “If they say to, ‘Is it you?’, say ‘We are it’s children, and we are the chosen of the living Father.'” “If they ask you, ‘What is the evidence of your Father in you?’ say to them, ‘It is motion and rest.’ ” That movement, or motion, is part of the remedy of perfecting self which moves you in the Way ( I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life) closer to Father, where you become known (Recall: I never knew you). Even in rest, there is Spirit mobility.

100_0678

Now, here is where I am going to get into a sticky topic: being born again. Personally, I believe this is misused, not out of insincerity, but out of misunderstanding on self. John 3.5-8 says: Jesus answered, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is Spirit. Do not marvel that I said this to you, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but cannot tell where it comes from and where it goes. So is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

A natural question is: What does it mean to be born of water and Spirit? One cannot enter the kingdom of God without being born of water and Spirit. Man, of course, fashioned the baptismal, and his practices on Chrismation. This is his way of understanding that first step toward the kingdom. I would never say that one does not experience the Spirit in this process, because I believe that God can use anything or anyone, how He wants, where He wants, and when He wants, and really, this would be my point. I do not believe that man’s Religious practices in this are a necessity. It’s Tradition, and somehow serves to make people feel better about starting off in what I hope is a Life of the Spirit, and not merely a life of Religion. But what is meant in the Scripture passage may surprise. In truth, it is dedication to the Presence of Him who is All. Where is the water and Spirit in this statement? you wonder. It rests in the motion to return to that childlike state on innocence. Innocence being a blemish free state of personhood, which is really a coming into Godhood. Cleanse yourself of worldly filth and infection, for what you engage in – what you feed on – if not of God, corrupts and stains the soul. Much of the result in this puts people in a condition in need of healing. The remedy rests in the motion to return to child, and be restored as one within the One. Also, if you have heard of the Gift of Tears, this is almost invariably a part of that experience of conversion.

Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.

So how is this concept of being born again a misunderstanding on self? First, let me paint an image of something. This Something is Pure Love, and Love that few truly know in an unadulterated form. It’s Paradise – the Garden – and this Garden is guarded fiercely. Why? Because it cannot allow any contamination into it or the whole Feed becomes infected, and in this Garden are the most Precious and most Innocent of gems. Think of it as Children in the Garden. Including Infants. Pure and undefiled. Now, who wouldn’t want to keep this Garden protected from infection?

To help you put this into a manner more easily understood, let’s look at it in a two-fold way. There is the Garden, and there is the House, or the Castle, or the Temple. You are the Temple. You are not permitted into this Garden unless you are OF the NATURE of [who] exists there. There is no inequality in this Garden – no Patriarchal Superiority as seen in many Religions, because the Rule is not to Rule. You are one with the One. To be OF a Patriarchal mindset forbids you this Perfected Marriage, for you have not aligned self with that higher, more elevated angelic Self. When very young children feed in the fields free of prejudice and dominance, there is harmony.

Where believers misunderstand this conversion of rebirth is in not seeing self through the eyes of God. Believers see self through the eyes of man, and very often this is misdirected and misaligned. He allows himself to be judged OR approved by man, not God. Believers will say to me, ‘I know the exact moment I was saved. I know the moment I was born-again!’ It is said …

But of that day and that hour knoweth no man, no, not the angels which are in heaven, neither the Son, but the Father. Mark 13.32

Yes, it is now. In your day. Continuous and ever-flowing as one is spiritually growing, and by the grace of God, one hopes to be saved.

Assuredly, I say to you, this generation will by no means pass away till all these things take place. Mark 13.30 I don’t know about you, but it appears as if He is Risen, and Saint Paul says, Aman … Aman … Aman. 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

