Skip to content

THE GOSPEL OF THOMAS: I Am Not Your Teacher (Part One)

February 17, 2013

100_0660

Section on:  The Prophet – L. Thiel Hewlings

The Gospel of Thomas is an exciting read. Unfortunately, it has been rejected by most of Christianity. I take this as a good sign, for, the Truth Prophets have been rejected down through history. You might say it comes with the job. So, in light of this, I would like to draw attention to the Gospel attributed to our Twin Apostle, Thomas.

3 (1) Jesus said,”If your leaders say to you, ‘Look, the kingdom is in heaven,’ then the birds of heaven will precede you. (2) If they say to you, ‘It is in the sea, then the fish will precede you . (3) Rather, the kingdom is inside you and it is outside you.

This passage reminds me of a dream I had. I was standing in a deteriorated cathedral. The inside was dark and falling apart. I stood with an Orthodox priest looking up at a wooden staircase, where the steps were unstable and beginning to crumble. The room was full of dust. I gave the priest a look of concern and walked out of the building. As I started down a hill, the sea followed me; it surrounded me, and moved with me. In the waters I saw many sea creatures, and as I walked, the creatures moved in the water with me. When I saw these, I felt encouraged.

Rather, the kingdom is inside you and it is outside you. This is understood in the Parable of the Fig Tree in Luke 13.6-9. The question here would be: Why hasn’t the tree shown fruit? The keeper tells the owner to give it a year, and he will dig around it, and fertilize it. To more fully understand this parable, we must know what each represents. The owner represents Man. The Fig is the Gift God gives, whatever that may be (prophesy, understanding, knowledge, the spiritual arts…). The Keeper is your Apostle, your Prophet. The keeper tends the grounds. He knows the field, the tree, the weather, the enemy to the tree, the enemy to the fruit, and he understands what the tree might need to bear fruit. To reject the council of the keeper would be to lose all. And so, to answer the question on why the tree is not bearing fruit, we must look to the Owner of the grounds, and the Apostle-Prophet as the instrument – the spade, and the container holding the Fertilizer.The Fertilizer is the the Word of God.

Man in Religion does not see his own error, and it is often the case where he allows secular agenda to rule in place of God Authority.  He sees that his fig tree is not bearing fruit but he does not understand the why, or the how, and he decides to cut it down. God is asking: Have you used my Gift properly? What have you done with my Prophets, those I sent with fertilizer and spade? Have you given them time to do what I sent them to do – My Time?

11 (1) Jesus said, “The dead are not alive, and the living will not die.”

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

